About us


Darwin Plus (also known as The Overseas Territories Environment and Climate Fund) provides funding for:

  • environmental projects in UK Overseas Territories
  • fellowships for UK Overseas Territories (OT) Nationals to increase their knowledge and ability to meet long-term strategic outcomes for the natural environment in UK Overseas Territories

Since 2012, Darwin Plus has awarded over £32m to more than 162 projects in the UK Overseas Territories.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

For further information on the related funds, the Darwin Initiative and the IWT Challenge Fund, please follow the links provided below:

The 14 UK Overseas Territories are:

  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • The Cayman Islands
  • The Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • The Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie & Oeno Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Sovereign Base Areas, Akrotiri and Dhekelia (on Cyprus)
  • The Turks & Caicos Islands

Darwin Plus Advisory Group membership

Professor EJ Milner-Gulland (Chair) – Oxford University

UK Government policy advisers from:

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)

Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO)

Members with OT knowledge or experience:

Martin Brasher

Jonathan Hall

John R Turner

Professor Brendan Godley

Martin Collins

Other external advisers:

Dr Colin Clubbe – Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Amanda Gregory – Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC)

Ed McManus – Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS)


Darwin and IWT Accessibility Statement